Buying a used car, need your advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Buying a used car, need your advice

I am a recent college grad(female) and I need to buy my first car, but I have no experience in how to do it. I want to get a car within the next 2 or 3 months.My budget is around $25,000.

Should i get a japanese,german, or american car? Should i stick with SUVs for safety issues? Which car is the best for driving in winter? What do you guys think are the most important factors to consider when buying a used car?
    Any input will be much appreciated.

^not sure if this is really the right forum, but we have had other car threads. For that money, I'd look at maybe something like a CRV, about a year or two old. Or if you want fancier (but worse fuel economy), an Acura RDX or Infiniti EX35 around 2008 model. I like small crossovers our climate - you sit a bit higher so can see well, but the security and ease of AWD in winter. I think its safer as well, the issues of rollover in old SUV's have been addressed in newer vehicles, most of the cross overs are just jacked up sedans/wagons.

Having owned German, American and Japanese vehicles (not Korean yet), I have found Japanese most reliable, can simply maintain a new one at quick Lube places once a year with synthetic oil and will drive fine.
    Last edited by moahunter; 30-04-2012, 01:16 PM. Reason: Infiniti not infinity

Comment

Japanese reliability plus AWD for the winter = Subaru
      “You have to dream big. If we want to be a little city, we dream small. If we want to be a big city, we dream big, and this is a big idea.” - Mayor Stephen Mandel, 02/22/2012

Comment

thank you for your detailed information! they are very useful!

Comment

Honda Civic 4 door. Reliability and fuel economy.

Ottawa-Edmonton-Vancouver-Edmonton

Comment