Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

European published travel guides thoughts about Edmonton.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• European published travel guides thoughts about Edmonton.

As many of you know I travel for a living, what many of you don't know is that I love to see what people say about Alberta, Calgary and Edmonton. I think I am from one of the greatest places in many ways.

Recently I picked up numerous travel guides in the United Kingdom and Germany about Alberta and Canada's West; I was shocked by the continual down play of the Edmonton regions. From comments about the duller city to the north, to the festival city that host not much of anything. These comments have me concerned.

What is Edmonton doing to portray itself as a holiday destination or destination of business? Being orginally from Metro Edmonton, I am proud of the city. However when I come back (I am based in Colorado) I see the lacking spirit or since or direction. What is Edmonton about? Are we a city of the next generation? You brag about a LRT, and transit system that is relished by the world in the 80's not 2000's. What really is the river valley? If we market it as one of our assets why don't we ecologically correctly develop key venues centred around it.

Edmonton . . . who are you? To many of us you are still the mysterious post in the West that seems to grow without tremendous direction or drive. Oil has provided a target, but what are your ambitions?

Edmonton please respond before we are down the road of the many traveled.

Re: European published travel guides thoughts about Edmonton

Excellent point Brent, and a prime example of how we're perceived.

Edmonton really needs to work on marketing a positive image to the world. Stretch the truth a bit, put out a lot of glossy brocheures, etc. Our city's marketing has NOT been stellar over the past few decades.
    LA today, Athens tomorrow. I miss E-town.

Comment