HDR photography

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• HDR photography

HDR (High Dynamic Range) photography is a technique that can produce stunning results. When I was a student at the Banff School of Fine Arts there was a lecture in a black and white film course where the instructor gave a scenario: You want to shoot the interior of a church where the sunlight is streaming through the stained-glass windows. If you expose for the windows, everything else will be underexposed. If you expose for the interior, pews and altar, the stained-glass windows will be overexposed. So he taught us a technique called "waterbath".

Essentially HDR is the digital equivelent of waterbathing.
    Here is a three-exposure image that I took last night. You can see the Gateway Park oil derrick in the photo. Henday is in the foreground

Nikon D700, ISO 6400, f32

Fly Edmonton first. Support EIA

Saint Joseph's Basilica

River Valley and Edmonton Queen
    Last edited by 24karat; 07-05-2012, 09:21 AM.

Comment

if you are doing this in photoshop (using the automated process) remember to turn off ghosting. in the river valley pic you can see it in the clouds. also, the point of HDR is to get an image with consistent exposure across the board so don't crank up the radius too high otherwise there's a weird glow effect around hard edges. make it so that it's not obvious that an HDR technique was used and you will amaze people. best time for HDR is early in the day or when the sun is going down. NICE WORK!

recent...
      Last edited by DTrobotnik; 07-05-2012, 09:34 AM.

Comment

The river valley image was taken with a point and shoot camera when I was beginning to experiment with HDR. I have lots of nice photos around the province and in Europe, but they would not be appropriate for this thread.

Comment