Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Get Down E-Town!

Get Down E-Town!

Edmonton. Home of the biggest mall in the world. Home of the world’s biggest parking lot. Automatic car starters. The Edmonton Oilers. Still the city of champions. The Eskimos. Festivals. The Arts Community and bars (..on Whyte Ave). Something to celebrate? Absolutely!

You know the phrase, “you don’t know what you’ve got till it’s gone”? I think many Edmonton ex pats can relate.

I grew up in Edmonton and graduated from the University of Alberta. When I graduated, I thought that I should try something new, challenge myself, and move on to bigger and better things. Like many Edmontonians, I thought that what was out there must be better than what was here. So, I moved to Toronto, started my own business and started living the “big city” life.
    I loved the social life, theater, constant concerts, business opportunities and the city skyline which I could see from the rooftop of my downtown condo. And although I do still love those things- I realized that Edmonton has an asset that is often overlooked. It’s people. I have never, in all of my traveling, business dealings and social activities, found people who are more down to earth, genuine and all around nice people.

Perhaps more shocking than how much I missed Edmonton, was how little Toronto knew about Edmonton. In their minds I had lived on a farm, couldn’t get to school most days because my dog sled was covered in snow and there were about 100,000 of us in Edmonton. Literally. I was shocked. I was asked daily if “I was going to be ok in the big city”!