Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

My vacation in China Part 1, Shanghai - Enjoy!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My vacation in China Part 1, Shanghai - Enjoy!

My Trip To China (February 1st to April 1st 2005)

This is my first time traveling in another continent by myself.

Tuesday Feb. 1st

The airplane ride from Edmonton to Vancouver took one hour. I had some nuts and
    orange juice on that flight. I landed in Vancouver at 11:30am I walked across the airport
    terminal to catch my next flight to Shanghai. The flight 11-hour flight from Vancouver
    to Shanghai was a long one consisting of 3 meals and one snack. I saw a bunch of
    movies & shows like, China, I Robot, another Chinese movie, a crappy home and garden
    show, a ‘60’s magic women sitcom??, and Frasier. There was a middle-aged lady sitting
    beside me, I introduced myself to her and told her my plans when I get to China. She
    was very helpful in telling me where to stay and what to do in Shanghai. She was so nice
    that she helped me through the Shanghai airport (it was my first time doing this in
    another country and by myself) she also had her husband drive me down to the
    Shanghai Conservatory of Music’s foreign student’s dormitory. I got a dorm room that
    had 2 beds (lucky for me I had the whole room to myself) a shared bathroom on each
    floor, the showers consisting of an open pipe with water running through, at least the
    water was warm, I would realize later on in my vacation that other parts of China don’t
    offer the luxury of warm running water. Unfortunately, my room had no heat so I had to
    keep my sweater on almost all the time. The place cost me Y70 per night; this is where I
    would stay for a couple of days. I offered to compensate the lady for helping me get here
    she refused, God bless her and her generosity. I was tired so I went straight to bed but