PDA

View Full Version : What to do!???! - HELP

sdimedru
25-01-2007, 12:51 PM
I'm looking for some opinions and/or suggestions in relation to the housing/condo market.

I'm 21 years old, living in an apartment downtown with my girlfriend. I graduated from NAIT last spring and have been working at Stantec since. My girlfriend is finishing her BSc. at the UofA and plans to go back for a masters degree.

We've been talking lately, and are wondering if it's worth getting a condo, or if we should keep renting until she's done school. I have a feeling that we might miss our chance at a $300,000 condo now, and have to get the same one for $450,000 3 years down the road.

I also am investment minded aswell, and wonder if buying a condo now, could prove to be a good investment down the road? Or will the condo prices steady/drop, in which case I should wait!

Anyways, I'm hoping there are some forumers on here that might have experience with going into the housing market and could hand out some good advice!

Thanks in advance
Dru

ps: If I were to buy a condo, it would 100% be downtown.

IanO
25-01-2007, 12:59 PM
comes down to supply and demand.....and in edmonton the supply is relatively low and demand is high. We have a large net in migration and housing prices have pushed 1st time buyers and even many established buyers out of the housing market and into condos.

plus add in:

-more people wanting to live centrally
-expanding downtown work/live/play
-baby boom gen wanting less maintenance lifestyles

we wont see 50% increases like last yr but id bet 15-20% for another yr or 2 and then 5-10%.......then normal growth rates there on.

it is expensive to get in now, but we said that 3 yrs ago with $250,000 condos.

SteveB
25-01-2007, 01:10 PM
Buy now - Edmonton property is still undervalued compared to other major Canadian cities.....and I can see 10+% rises in price for the next 5 to 10 years.

sdimedru
25-01-2007, 01:37 PM
would you buy new or used?

IanO