PDA

View Full Version : Does the spike in Edmonton homicides trouble you?

DebraW
02-01-2007, 10:27 AM
Does the spike in the city's homicides in the last two years trouble you?

Yes, we live in a more violent world.

LindseyT
02-01-2007, 10:35 AM
Not at all. The vast majority could be traced to some bad decision made by the victim. Getting in a bad relationship, drug related, high risk lifestyle....

I'm a 20 something university student who's idea of a fun night is having a few drinks at a pub. I fear crashing through the ice on the ski-doos or rolling the atv much more than getting knived or shot.

DebraW
02-01-2007, 11:04 AM
Not at all. The vast majority could be traced to some bad decision made by the victim. Getting in a bad relationship, drug related, high risk lifestyle...

LindseyT I respect your opinion but I absolutely abhor and will not tolerate any blaming of victims or shifting of responsibility.

Yes, you do offset the comment with “the vast majority” but nonetheless IMO this does a huge disservice to all victims and their survivors.

What bad decision did Evan James Grykuliak, 17, make when he left his birthday party only to be confronted by party-crashers?

IMO no one thinks that this chain of events could lead to tragic consequences. Yes, drugs, high risk lifestyles and bad relationships can and do factor in some murders but as long as there is any push back to the victim, most people will continue to believe that Edmonton (and the world) is fine as long as… This “it could/will never happen to me” thought process is simply not true as sometimes things just happen.

A few years ago, I was a victim of “random” violence, which nearly killed me—what was my bad decision—leaving work.

grish
02-01-2007, 11:29 AM
Not at all. The vast majority could be traced to some bad decision made by the victim. Getting in a bad relationship, drug related, high risk lifestyle....