PDA

View Full Version : Empty lot just behind Urban Lounge

sky high
29-12-2006, 05:28 PM
What is the deal with the dirt patch on Whyte Ave just behind Urban Lounge? It has been sitting empty for as long as I can remember. Any plans for developement?

Medwards
29-12-2006, 08:38 PM
What is the deal with the dirt patch on Whyte Ave just behind Urban Lounge? It has been sitting empty for as long as I can remember. Any plans for developement?
I believe you are referring to the former Esso gas station site, sitting abandoned for environmental reasons, and lack of interest to do anything with the site from Imperial Oil, which, unfortunately, is the case in many prominent areas across Canada, at former Esso stations that had gas tank leaks and other gas station environmental problems.

afzal
29-12-2006, 10:32 PM
I went to high school at Old Scona right past the chapters on whyte and I remember them saying some time around when I graduated that they are turning the area into a green space (park) as soon as the decontamination issue is resolved (which it almost is I think)

SAL
02-01-2007, 04:57 PM
The Imperial Oil contaminated site is on the slow road to rehabilitation. There are vents throughout the property and on the roadways. Like any other old gas station site, the fuel has leaked into the utility corridor and onto adjoining properties. It will be at least another five years before there is any development on the site. At the request of the business community, Imperial Oil has changed the fencing and added sod and trees to the perimeter - not perfect, but better.

At one time, the City of Edmonton was considering the site as a temporary park but decided that there were too many issues. It is a valuable piece of property and I expect that Imperial Oil will sell it for development as soon as it is cleaned up.

ThomasH
02-01-2007, 08:57 PM
They should build a patio on the property to be used as an outdoor marketplace.

WMelhem
04-01-2007, 11:01 AM