PDA

View Full Version : Auto waranties and the law

bulliver
23-03-2009, 06:10 PM
Got some terrible news today. My car died about a week ago, and I finally got it into the dealer today. They called and said that the engine had taken on water, and was completely pooched. I was quoted $4500 for a new (used!) engine.

Now:
1. I purchased a used car from a major Edmonton (big 3) auto dealer.
2. I paid $2500 at time of purchase for an extended warranty, which is still valid and in effect.
3. Unbenownst to me, the car had an aftermarket part (namely: a cold air intake) installed before I purchased it.
4. I was told today my extended warranty will not cover this because of the aftermarket part.
5. I was not told about this aftermarket part proir to, or after purchasing the car.
6. I was not told that this part will affect my warranty.
7. As I understand it (I am not a mechanic), the engine is dead _because_ of this part, as it is mounted a few inches above the ground, and sucked in water last Saturday when the temp. was high and there was huge puddles of water all over the roads.

I don't have $4500 for a new engine. I feel sick about having to make payments for four more years on a useless car with no engine. No matter the outcome, this is going to deal a huge blow to my personal finances. I guess what I would like to know is if there may be any legal recourse for me? I am not asking for legal advice, I am asking if I should contact a lawyer? Or is it 'buyer beware' and I am going to have to eat it?

Might there be any recourse for me at all?

Any suggestions appreciated.

grish
23-03-2009, 06:14 PM
what about contacting a TV station and their trouble-thingy department. sounds like it might be a cause they would take up.

It also sounds to me that the dealer had no business selling extended warranty on something the warranty does not cover. Small claims court, perhaps? Finally, there is Service Alberta and BBB.

bulliver
23-03-2009, 06:17 PM